Spain issues arrest warrant for Netanyahu over 2010 Freedom Flotilla deadly attack

18-11-2015 20:43


Spanish judge, Jose de la Mata, issued arrest warrants for Israeli PM Netanyahu as well as six other officials including former Foreign Minister Avigdor Leiberman, ex-Defence Minister Ehud Barak, former Interior Minister Eli Yishai, former Minister of Strategic Affairs Moshe Yaalon, Minister without Portfolio Benny Begin and Vice-Admiral Maron Eliezer.


He ordered the police to notify him should any of the above mentioned Israeli officials cross Spanish borders over a case against them pertaining to the Israeli attack on Freedom Flotilla which was headed to Gaza from Turkey and Greece to Gaza in 2010.


The main focus for this legal battle was the head civilian ship 'Mavi Marmara' which was among the convoy carrying humanitarian aid in an attempt to break the Israeli blockade of the Gaza Strip.


Ten activists were killed in the attack as Israeli armed forces raided the ship.


Israeli government received this decision with denial refusing to face charges for their responsibility of their deliberate deadly attacks on the civilian humanitarian ship.


Israeli Foreign Ministry spokesperson said: “We consider it to be a provocation. We are working with the Spanish authorities to get it cancelled. We hope it will be over soon.”


Topics : #Israel #Gaza Freedom Flotilla # Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu #Spain

Israeli Racism in Quotes

Copyright © 2014-2015 EuroPal Forum - All rights reserved